Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Last week I decided to take a couple days off and visit the California desert. It was so beautiful and such a relaxing a mini vacation.

I stayed at the perfectly designed Ace Hotel in Palm Springs. I was blown away by the detail in designing this hotel. It is a great place for a young couples retreat, with plenty of activities and social situations. My one regret is I wish I had taken more pictures of the Hotel. I recommend anyone staying in Palm Springs to give this place a visit or a stay.

Ace Hotel in Palm Springs

Ace Hotel in Palm Springs

Standard Room at the Ace Hotel in Palm Springs - the bed was unreal!

Kings Road Cafe at the Ace Hotel - Great place for lunch

The first day of my stay, I visited the Aerial Tramway in Palm Springs. The tram give you a 360 degree rotating viewing deck that takes you from the flat desert, to 2 1/2 miles up Mount San Jacinto. There is a restaurant, museum, cafe and bar up there. Numerous hiking trails span the mountain and during the winter time, there is snow.

Snow on Mount San Jacinto

Mount San Jacinto

View from Mount San Jacinto - Palm Springs, Coachella Valley & Salton Sea

Tall Redhead on the Rocks - Sounds like a drink

Tree on Mount San Jacinto

While driving around the desert, I found a couple interesting sights.

Spider Bug! - this was right off the 10 on the way to Palm Springs

Windmills Along the Highway

One of the most interesting sights I witnessed was the Salton Sea. Once a vacation spot in the 1950s, it is now a desolate wasteland with few inhabitants. the smell alone will keep people away. I didn’t get many pictures this trip, but I found a few odd things out there which I will make another blog entry one day.

Dock of the Once Popular Salton Sea - Now a stinky abandon wasteland

Driving through the Coachella Valley and through Joshua Tree is breathtaking. You really begin to see how much space there is in this world. Space to just admire.

Beautiful Coachella Valley

Joshua Tree National Park

A Joshua Tree - I can hear U2... (lame joke, I know, but I had to do it)

I highly recommend taking the time to make a trip out there during the Spring time. There are so many activities to get involved in and the Desert Hot Springs Spas are there for your relaxation needs!

